KTCCU: low interest rate for vehicles is offered

Kansas Teacher Credit Union employees, left to right: Teller – Lacey Miles, Teller-Elizabeth Thurston, Member Services Agent – Bonnie Boyle, Branch Manager – Bob Hanson Photo submitted.

Spring has arrived and the pandemic is waning, allowing more travel for Americans.

Some people buy new cars for their trips.

A recent look at car loan rates on bankrate.com for April 2022 shows that the percentage rate range for car loans ranges from 2.49 to over 7% on average.

A local credit union offers a low interest loan for automobiles.

Kansas Teachers Community Credit Union, 24 S. National Avenue, is offering a 1.99% loan to qualified applicants with the best credit scores, for auto loans through June 30.

Kansas Teachers Credit Union is located at 24 S. National Avenue in Fort Scott. Photo submitted.

Vehicles must be a 2013 or newer model year and have a credit score of 600 or higher, or no score. Terms can be up to 84 months, based on mileage less than 100,000 miles.

“KTCCU promotional rates then have stair-step increases from there based on individual credit scores and mileage that exceeds 100,000 miles,” said Bob Hanson, Fort Scott branch manager. “This promotion also allows qualified applicants to pay for up to 90 days.”

“You don’t need to be a member of KTCCU to apply for a loan from KTCCU,” Hanson said. “But if you are approved and choose to complete the loan, you will need to open a KTCCU member stock savings account with a minimum deposit of $5. It only takes a few minutes, provide ID, fill out an account card and make a deposit.

To be eligible for KTCCU membership, one of the following conditions must be met:

  • Be an employee of any school in Kansas.
  • Work or live in Allen, Anderson, Atchinson, Bourbon, Brown, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clay, Coffey, Cowley, Crawford, Dickinson, Doniphan, Douglas, Elk, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Kingman, Labette, Leavenworth, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Miami, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Pottawatomie, Reno, Riley, Saline, Sedgwick, Shawnee, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson, Woodson, Wyandotte, counties;
  • Reside in the commercial area of ​​Pittsburg Kansas:
  • Be an employee of KTCCU;
  • Be a family member of a current credit union member; or
  • Be a current member organization of a credit union.

Membership, once established, may continue regardless of whether the above conditions still apply.

Hanson said new leadership has begun in the organization, of which Fort Scott is a subsidiary.

Elesa Parsons, from https://heartlandcua.org/news/2022/cu-people-on-move-cua-ktccu.aspx

“2022 brought KTCCU a new CEO/Chairman, Elesa Parsons,” he said. “Elesa brings with her extensive experience in credit union administration and accounting. Former CEO/Chairman Mark Kolarik retired from KTCCU and moved out of state.

“The Fort Scott branch of KTCCU was established/opened in September 2008,” he said. “Since the opening of the KTCCU Fort Scott site, the KTCCU mission has been accomplished. This mission is to be a strong, quality-driven organization that provides the most desirable financial services to community members while protecting their assets.

Hansen can be reached at

[email protected]

or phone (620)223-1475 Fax (620)223-1387

Comments are closed.